Now that I’m blogging regularly, its time to explore some of the blogging tools out there.

There’s WordPress, of course, with its posting management, and numerous templates, and statistics tracking tools. Its interface is really easy to use and a beginner can get up and running within minutes. I’m love its auto-preview feature, where you can check to see how your site will look with in a new theme. I’ve changed my color scheme three times already, trying to find the perfect look.

Still, I’m discovering that some of my lengthier posts takes me 30-40 minutes. I need to drastically cut down on that time if I want to keep posting this frequently and still find time to work on my Big Ship Ideas.

Here’s an article that I bookmarked from LifeHacker listing 10 Blogging Tools. Nice article, but it didn’t really mean much to me, since I wasn’t blogging at the time. Still, ten is too much to digest at one sitting for me, so let’s explore the last one — Autocopy

Once installed as a Firefox extension, Autocopy adds an additional menu item when you right-click your mouse. Some neat little features here, like Past to Location bar, which will paste whatever you copied, to the web address or URL field in Firefox.

I was a little puzzled, because the article said that anything you highlighted would be automatically copied to the clipboard — without making you hit Control + C. And that you could paste from the clipboard by pressing the middle mouse button. But I didn’t work for me.

Turns out that you have to enable these options under Tools menu in Firefox, then Add-ons. And of course, it only works within Firefox, which is a little weird. You can’t use it to copy and paste something from your web browser to Word, for example.

Hmmm. . . now that I’ve enabled some of the features, I don’t get the new menu shown above, anymore. I’ve broken it somehow. Well, at least the middle mouse button paste feature works đŸ˜®Â  I’ll have to play around with it some more.

So, with trusty blog tool installed, lets see if it makes a dent at cutting my blog writing time.

