I had posted on a couple of forums asking for feedback on freebestdeals.com. Its built on Ning.com which lets you choose from a selection of templates or color schemes. I made the same mistake that I did when I first started this blog–I chose a poor template/color scheme, because I thought that fancy = better.

The reviewers said things like:

“The site seems to be all over the place.”

“There is so much there that I don’t know where to click.”

So I went back and started over. Instead of choosing a fancy template, I choose a plain white background and then added the colors that I wanted back in, one at a time. I also removed all unnecessary features, like the member list and photo gallery, etc. to keep the left column clean. It looks a ton better now. The forum users were right on the money.

