After trying out Autocopy, a Firefox addon, for about 2 weeks, I can see where it would come in useful. If you were doing data intensive writing, such as a research article, or perhaps baseball stats, and needed to copy and paste data from multiple source, than Autocopy would be your new best friend.

For a simple blog, though, it is a bit of an overkill. Still, I liked the option to configure the middle mouse button as a “paste” key.

The autocopy function (where anything that you highlight is automatically copied to the clipboard) was more of a hindrance than anything else. Particularly when trying to copy a URL to a hyper link. I would autocopy (highlight) the URL in one window, then I would need to highlight the words that I wanted to anchor, only to have the URL over written with my newly highlighted, autocopied text.

