tonsils1I just had a tonsillectomy on Thursday.  I called up a co-worker who had his removed last year to get the low down. He assured me that it would be a miserable two weeks of recovery. One of his major difficulties is that he’s very thin.  He didn’t have a lot of extra fat reserve to tide him over, so that he was starving after three or four days.   For me, dealing with hunger is much easier.  Four days after my procedure, I’ve already lost five pounds, but I haven’t really been hungry.  Except for the one time I made the mistake of watching Top Chef on TV.

A really helpful site is Ask.MetaFilter.com, with numerous posts from other people who had the procedure, their experience dealing with the pain. My favorite post so far is by Wubbie:

“7. I do not want to hear from you if you had your tonsils out when you were a kid and don’t remember it being “that bad”. Once you’re past 25 or so, it’s a whole different ball game. If you have your tonsils removed when you’re 8 years old, it’s true, it’s not that bad—your body is still developing, the top of your skull is still hardening, your teeth are just coming in, your legs are still wobbly. But when you’re in your 30s, your body has grown accustomed to having an inside to its mouth, so removing it really puts the rest of your body in a foul mood as it tries to figure out what the hell just happened.”

I can whole-heartedly agree that right after the surgery, swallowing feels like swallowing a bunch of razor blades. The inside of my throat is all lacerated and burning. I also experienced the distended tongue and swollen uvula which makes it feel like I have something stuck in my throat.  Here is an excerpt from   Adipocere’s description.

“SURPRISE PAIN VECTOR: Your tongue. Your tongue will be swollen because they put a device called a “tongue blade” on you that pushes the annoying thing against the bottom of your jaw so it doesn’t flop around during surgery. This made mine swell up and was probably the most painful part.”

Over all, my recovery has been going pretty smoothly.

A side note: Ask.metafilter.com had a server crash on Friday. Although it is back on line, the link in this post used to have 20+ pages.  Now, it is only displaying one page.

