I am starting this project to create self-substaining, revenue generating websites using the spare change that I’ve accumlated over the last year or two.  The inspiration came when my wife and son dragged jars and jars of coins saved over to the credit union.  When they were all sorted, the total came out to over $300! Hence, the challenge is to create some revenue generating websites for $300 worth of spare change.

Although I’ve been studying this topic for over a year now, its been a challenge putting it into practice.

One of the problems is that there are unlimited articles on monetizing websites out there; its easy to get overwhelmed and lose your focus.  Another challenge is that I’ve noticed that the articles fall into two categories: they are either too basic and lacking in details, or else they are too complex and go right over my head.

The main purpose of this blog will be to annotate my steps in creating Money Making Websites  and as a central place for all of my notes and article references. I’m not sure how far I will get or how successful I’ll be in accomplishing my goals, but I’ll never know if I don’t start.

One great source of information is Al Carlton and Scott Jones’ blog SelfMadeMinds.com.

selfmademinds_welcome

One  focus will be on building mini-sites:  quick and easy to set up websites highlighting one product or service that is designed to generate revenue.  We will be refering to SelfMadeMinds.com quite frequently.  Go ahead and check out their site.

